> Back to About us

Structure and Governance

iRAP is registered in England as a charity (no. 1140357) which was founded in 2006. It is an umbrella organisation for local road assessment programmes and partners including BrazilRAPEuroRAPThaiRAPMyRAPIndiaRAPusRAPKiwiRAPChinaRAPAusRAP and SARAP. We also aim to facilitate work and support national programmes in a wide range of low, middle and high-income countries.

Our charitable objectives are the international promotion of the improvement of road safety and the quality of roads for the public benefit. iRAP works in partnership with government and non-government organisations to:

  • inspect high-risk roads and develop Targeted Road Safety Plans
  • provide training, technology and support that will build and sustain national, regional and local capability
  • track road safety performance so that funding agencies can assess the benefits of their investments.

We are bound by the laws of the UK, including the Charities Act 1993 (as amended by the Charities Act 2006, 2011 and 2016) and Bribery Act 2010. We take a zero tolerance approach to bribery and fraud.

We are supported by charitable donations and governed by a Board of Trustees who are internationally acknowledged as experts in the road safety field and non-profit sector. The Trustees are responsible for the proper administration of the organisation, have a duty to act collectively, and must act in the best interests of the charity. Our current chairman is Gary Liddle.

iRAP has a Global Policy Advisory Committee (GPAC) and Global Technical Committee (GTC) that provide strategic advice to the Board on a range of issues. For more information on the purpose and membership of the committees, see these GPAC and GTC links.

iRAP Board

Gary Liddle


Saul Billingsley

Director General, FIA Foundation

Miquel Nadal

Former Executive Director RACC Foundation

Ferry Smith

EuroRAP Chairman

Sue Sharland

Former CEO, TRL

Shane O’Connor

Communications Advisor, FedEx

iRAP Global Policy Advisory Committee (GPAC)

Jamie Leather

GPAC Chair & Chief, Asian Development Bank (ADB) Transport Sector Group

Amadou Oumarou

Director, Infrastructure and Urban Development, African Development Bank

Avi Silverman

Deputy Director, FIA Foundation

Claudia Adriazola-Steil

Director, Health and Road Safety, World Resources Institute (WRI) Ross Center for Sustainable Cities

Max Jensen

Head of Regional Transport Division, Mobility Department, European Investment Bank (EIB)

Neil Pedersen

Executive Director, Transportation Research Board (TRB)

Patrick Mallejacq

Secretary General, PIARC (World Road Association)

Soames Job

Head, World Bank Global Road Safety Facility (GRSF)

Stephen Karingi

Director, Regional Integration and Trade Division, United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA)

Susanna Zammataro

Director General, International Road Federation – Geneva (IRF)

Young Tae Kim

Secretary General, International Transport Forum (ITF)

GPAC Delegates

Malaya Zumel

Regional Transport Coordinator for Africa, Caribbean and Pacific, European Investment Bank (EIB)

Per Mathiasen

Senior Transport Engineer, European Investment Bank (EIB)

Stephen Perkins

Head of the Transport Research Centre, International Transport Forum (ITF)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email